Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Wyoming
- Purchasing an auto insurance policy.
- Securing a bond.
- Depositing $25,000 with the state treasurer.
Wyoming's Auto Insurance Requirements are as follows:
- For bodily injury per person: $25,000
- For bodily injury per accident: $50,000
- For property damage per accident: $20,000
Proof of insurance is required to be kept in the car of the insured. Failure to provide proof of insurance can result in steep fines, jail time and the loss of the motorist's registration and license plates.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Wyoming
Wyoming Insurance Fraud
Insurance fraud costs the country billions of dollars every year, and millions to the state of Wyoming alone. Insurance fraud can take on many forms. Here are a few:
- Hiding a car in a friend's garage or in a storage unit and making a claim to the insurance company that the car is "stolen."
- Engaging in staged accidents.
- "Paper" accidents. This is when a claim is filed for an auto accident that never really happened. It is an accident on paper only.
- Lying on an insurance application.
- Issuing a bogus insurance policy.
- Referring accident victims to body shops, doctors and attorneys for a fee.
- Exaggerating injuries or automobile damage on an insurance claim form.
- Altering an insurance claim form to make it look like the car insurance is still in effect.
Auto insurance fraud is a crime punishable by jail time, fines and restitution.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Wyoming
Every year, Wyoming has roughly 140 fatal crashes. Close to 50 of these traffic fatalities are the fault of a driver who is under the influence of alcohol. This translates to over 30 percent of Wyoming's traffic fatalities being caused by drunk drivers. The blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Wyoming is 0.08 percent for adults who are 21 and older. Commercial drivers have a stricter limit at 0.04 percent, and people under the age of 21 have a limit of 0.02 percent. In addition to these three limits, Wyoming also has an aggravated BAC limit of 0.15 percent. Penalties are far more severe if a driver has a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher.
Wyoming's Unusual Laws
There are laws on the books in Wyoming that are strange, unusual and archaic. Here are a few of them:
- It is against the law to spit on the steps of any Wyoming school.
- Junk dealers are forbidden from making any sales to a drunk person.
- It is illegal to take pictures of rabbits from January to April without an official permit.
Driving in Wyoming
Tourists who are driving through Wyoming should be sure to take the road through the Beartooth Mountains. This 94-mile highway passes alpine villages, tundra and lakes, ending in Yellowstone National Park.
This one-of-a-kind park, with its hot, bubbling pools and geysers, is an example of one of the USA's "calderas" or super volcanoes. Did you know that the Old Faithful Geyser erupts every 91 minutes and is the most predictable geological event on the planet?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code