Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Washington
The easiest way to meet financial responsibility laws in the state is to obtain an automobile policy. The policy will need to have minimum coverages.
This includes $25,000 for bodily injury and death of one person for a single accident, $50,000 for bodily injury and death of two people for a single accident, and a third limit of $10,000 for injury or destruction to the property of others. Washington State Department of Licensing
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Washington
The Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner has an anti-fraud unit called the Special Investigations Unit. This unit as created by the legislature of the state in 2006. Members of the unit are officers in law enforcement who have the authority to conduct a criminal investigation.
Tips come into the unit from law enforcement, the public, and other sources. They have statistics for 2012 that include immediate loss prevented, projected loss prevented, and total restitution. The immediate loss prevented in 2012 was slightly less than $7 million. The projected loss prevented for 2012 was nearly $4 million and total restitution was just more than $3 million.
DUI Crashes in Washington
The Washington state Department of Licensing refers to operating a vehicle while affected by alcohol, drugs, or both, as Driving Under the Influence (DUI). This applies to both legal and illegal drugs, including prescription medication and over-the-counter drugs. A driver may be charged with DUI if the results of a breath or blood test show the amount of alcohol in the driver’s blood to be:
- .08 or higher for adults (21 and over).
- .04 or higher for commercial vehicle drivers (CDL disqualifications).
- .02 or higher for minors (under 21).
The statistics for drunk driving in the state come from Mothers Against Drunk Driving. They have this state listed at 25 in the nation for fatalities due to drunk driving.
Did You Know
Washington is part of the tort liability system with rules in place for available options to a driver involved in an automobile accident. Drivers, passengers, and pedestrians will have three options if they have been involved in an accident causing injury or property damage.
One option available is to file a claim with their own insurance company after an accident. A second option is to make a claim by contacting the insurance company of the other driver at fault for the accident. The third option is to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver for monetary damages. Meeting the fiscal responsibility laws in the state of Washington can be met in other ways than with an insurance policy.
- No one may kneel on a pedestrian.
- You cannot wear a life jacket near the Spokane River.
- No one can set fire to another person's property without that person's permission.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 98001 - 98029
- 98030 - 98059
- 98065 - 98117
- 98118 - 98188
- 98198 - 98249
- 98250 - 98311
- 98312 - 98374
- 98375 - 98464
- 98465 - 98569
- 98579 - 98663
- 98664 - 98826
- 98831 - 98951
- 98953 - 99133
- 99141 - 99212
- 99216 - 99403