Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Virginia
- For bodily injury or death of one person: $25,000
- For bodily injury or death of two or more people: $50,000
- For property damage: $20,000
Drivers without insurance or a UMV certificate will be penalized.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Virginia
Insurance Fraud in Virginia
According to stampoutfraud.com, insurance fraud costs every household in Virginia an average of $1,000 a month. This, alone, is good evidence that insurance fraud is not a victimless crime. In fact, one out of every three auto accident claims for bodily injury in Virginia involve some type of fraud. Insurance fraud costs Virginia millions of dollars yearly, and, nationally, insurance fraud losses run in the billions. Here are some examples of insurance fraud:
- Exaggerating on a claim form the severity of auto damage or injuries.
- Hiding a car in a friend's garage or in a storage unit and reporting it stolen in order to collect the auto insurance.
- Staged accident rings.
- Reporting a previous accident that was already collected on and calling it a new claim.
- Issuing a bogus insurance policy or insurance card.
- Lying on an insurance application.
- Filing a police report and collecting insurance money on an accident that never really happened.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Virginia
Each year, there are approximately 8,500 alcohol-related collisions in the state of Virginia. This figure represents 7 percent of Virginia's auto accidents. There are roughly 5,500 injuries resulting from these alcohol-related accidents and approximately 250 fatalities.
The average blood alcohol content (BAC) level for these accidents is 0.1393 percent which is way over the legal limit of 0.08 percent for drivers 21 and older, 0.04 percent for commercial drivers and 0.02 percent for drivers under 21.
Virginia's Unusual Laws
Every state in the nation has its own collection of illogical, outdated laws. Some of these can be downright funny. Here are a few that Virginia has to offer:
- In Virginia, it is illegal for anyone to tickle a woman.
- Hunters may not hunt on Sunday. Raccoons are the exception, and they may be hunted until 2:00 a.m.
- It is against the law to wash a mule on the sidewalk.
Driving in Virginia
Virginia offers a diverse and interesting driving experience. Motorists can begin in the Blue Ridge highlands and proceed into Virginia's famous coal country. Along the way, there are museums, small villages and an immense amount of natural beauty. When drivers get to the northern section of the state, the Blue Ridge Parkway will lead travelers into the Southern Appalachians where they will find the George Washington and Jefferson National Forests. This state is steeped in tradition, rich in American history and is a must-see for travelers.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 20105 - 20155
- 20164 - 22027
- 22030 - 22151
- 22152 - 22305
- 22306 - 22482
- 22485 - 22630
- 22655 - 22849
- 22851 - 23015
- 23024 - 23116
- 23117 - 23225
- 23226 - 23321
- 23322 - 23454
- 23455 - 23605
- 23606 - 23805
- 23824 - 23930
- 23936 - 24065
- 24066 - 24175
- 24179 - 24279
- 24283 - 24445
- 24450 - 24557
- 24558 - 24656