Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Vermont
- By purchasing a surety bond.
- By becoming self-insured.
- By purchasing auto insurance at or above the state's minimum insurance requirements.
Vermont State Insurance Minimums:
- For injury or death to one person: $25,000
- For injuries or death to more than one person: $50,000
- For property damage in any one accident: $10,000
All Vermont motorists are required to carry an automobile insurance card. Penalties for not having private insurance, a surety bond or self-insurance may result in fines, points against your driving record and the mandatory filing of an SR-22 with the DMV for three years which will raise insurance rates considerably.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Vermont
Insurance Fraud in Vermont
Insurance fraud in Vermont results in huge financial losses to companies that provide auto insurance to this state. Many people don't even realize that when they exaggerate accident injuries or use a friend's address on their insurance application, they are committing insurance fraud. Here are some other types of insurance fraud occurring in Vermont:
- Staging accidents to collect on the insurance policies.
- Hiding a vehicle and then reporting it "stolen" in order to collect the insurance money.
- Filing an accident report and claim form for an accident that never really happened. These are called "paper" accidents because they exist only on paper.
- Listing on a claim form that the insured was the driver in an accident, when an uninsured family member was really the driver.
- Issuing a false insurance policy.
- Referring accident victims to an attorney or doctor for a fee.
Vermont Alcohol-Related Accidents
Every year in the state of Vermont there are roughly 75 fatal accidents. Approximately 25 of these accidents are the result of driving under the influence of alcohol. This translates to almost 35 percent of all traffic fatalities in Vermont being alcohol related.
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Vermont is 0.08 percent. For drivers under 21, it is 0.02 percent. Operators of commercial vehicles have a BAC requirement of 0.04 percent. School bus drivers are the exception, though, with a BAC requirement of 0.02 percent.
Strange and Unusual Vermont Laws
Every state has a few strange, unusual and often funny laws on their books. Here are a few of Vermont's:
- It is illegal in Vermont for a woman to wear false teeth without permission from her husband.
- Tying a giraffe to a telephone pole anywhere in Vermont is illegal.
- All residents of Barre, Vermont are required by law to bathe every Saturday night.
Driving in Vermont
Vermont is a state with beautiful, picturesque vistas and scenery. Motorists can take the drive from Barre to Danville and see rolling hills, wooded areas, country villages and panoramas that could be on a postcard.
In the central part of the state, there are fish hatcheries, old-style village greens, quarries and even floating bridges. This state is rich in early American history with its colonial museums and historical districts. Did you know that after the Constitution was ratified, Vermont was the first state to be admitted to the union?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 05001 - 05363
- 05401 - 05641
- 05651 - 05843
- 05849 - 05903