Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Utah
- For bodily injury per person: $25,000
- For bodily injury per accident: $65,000
- For property damage per accident: $15,000
All drivers are required to carry their insurance cards in their automobiles at all times. If caught without insurance, motorists will pay a minimum of $400, receive a class B misdemeanor, which will result in a loss of driver's license and registration until proof of insurance is provided and a reinstatement fee is paid.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Utah
Utah's Insurance Fraud
Insurance fraud in the state of Utah results in millions of dollars lost every year. The average auto insurance policyholder will have to pay premiums that are between $800 and $1,000 higher each year because of insurance fraud. The victim of insurance fraud is definitely the consumer. Examples of auto insurance fraud include the following:
- Using a friend's address on an insurance application because the premium rates in his or her area of town are less.
- Participating in a staged accident.
- Referring accident victims to a doctor or attorney for a fee.
- When an auto body repair shop installs used or junkyard auto parts after an accident, when the insurance company is paying for new parts.
- Issuing a bogus insurance policy.
- Altering an insurance card of an expired policy to reflect that it is still currently in effect.
- "Padding" a claim form with extra charges simply for the purpose of recovering the deductible.
- Exaggerating the level of injuries experienced in an accident.
Alcohol-Related Driving in Utah
In any year-long period, Utah will have roughly 250 traffic fatalities. Approximately 50 of these deaths will be caused by a driver under the influence of alcohol. This is 20 percent of the people who die in fatal accidents. The blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Utah is 0.08 percent for motorists 21 and over.
For commercial vehicle operators, the limit is 0.04 percent, and for drivers under the age of 21, it is 0.00 percent. This translates to a zero-tolerance policy in Utah for people under the age of 21 who have any alcohol in their blood whatsoever.
Utah's Unusual Laws
Each state in the nation has its own share of antiquated laws, some of which are downright amusing. Here are a few of Utah's:
- It is against the law to fish from horseback.
- Causing a catastrophe is forbidden by law.
- It is a felony to walk on cracks in the pavement of a sidewalk of a state highway.
Driving in Utah
Travelers driving through Utah should make sure to explore the beautiful national parks of Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks. Zion is the oldest national park in Utah and is remarkably beautiful with its multi-shaded sandstone cliffs.
Travelers will find curio shops and ancient native ruins along the back trails of these two national parks. Salt Lake City and the Great Salt Lake are two of Utah's biggest attractions. Did you know that the city, "Levan," is "navel" spelled backwards and was given this name because it is in the middle of Utah?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 84003 - 84045
- 84047 - 84093
- 84094 - 84119
- 84120 - 84409
- 84412 - 84654
- 84660 - 84790