Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Tennessee
- Purchase liability coverage.
- Post a cash deposit or bond.
Minimum insurance requirements are as follows:
- For one injury or death: $25,000
- For all injuries or deaths: $50,000
- For property damage in one accident: $15,000
Failure to have proof of insurance can result in a fine of up to $100, license suspension and the inability to renew the car's registration.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Tennessee
Tennessee Insurance Fraud
According to a recent publication of the Tennessee Department of Insurance, there are two types of insurance fraud, and these are categorized as "hard" and "soft": Hard fraud occurs when individuals stage or invent an accident, injury or loss with the intent to collect insurance money. Examples of hard fraud are as follows:
- Engaging in staged accidents.
- Collecting a fee for referring an injured person to an attorney, doctor or mechanic
- Faking an auto accident in order to file an insurance claim and collect the insurance money.
- Inflating costs, such as medical fees, attorney's costs or mechanic's fees.
- Hiding an automobile in a garage or storage unit in order to file and collect on an insurance claim for a "stolen" vehicle.
Soft insurance fraud is a crime of opportunity. Here are a few examples:
- Exaggerating injuries resulting from a collision.
- Lying about the facts of the accident.
- Exaggerating the repair costs in order to recover the payout of a deductible.
Every year, insurance fraud in Virginia results in losses in the millions of dollars. Nationally, insurance fraud loss is in the billions. The policyholders end up paying for it in their insurance premiums.
Tennessee's Alcohol-Related Accidents
Every year, there are roughly 1,000 traffic accident deaths in Tennessee. Thirty-one percent of these fatalities are alcohol related. Drivers between the ages of 16 and 20 account for 17 percent of all drunk driving accidents.
The blood alcohol content (BAC) level in the state of Tennessee is 0.08 percent. However, the average BAC in Tennessee drunk driving deaths is 0.16 percent which is twice the legal limit.
Tennessee's Unusual Laws
All states have their own strange and unusual laws on the books. Here are a few of Tennessee's:
- It is illegal in the state of Tennessee for students to hold hands in school.
- In Tennessee, it is against the law to shoot any animals other than whales from a moving automobile.
- It is against the law in Tennessee to carry skunks into the state.
Driving in Tennessee
Tourists who decide to drive though Tennessee will find that it is a state with ample history and culture. For the most picturesque drive, it is best to tour the highways of Tennessee during the fall when all the leaves change into bright splashes of color.
They will also see the Great Smokey Mountains and experience the Cumberland Plateau. For even more history, travelers can tour Nashville, large plantations, horse farms and experience their share of Civil War history. Did you know that there are more horses per capita in Tennessee's Shelby County than in any other county in the nation?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 37013 - 37062
- 37064 - 37111
- 37115 - 37186
- 37187 - 37217
- 37218 - 37347
- 37352 - 37403
- 37404 - 37644
- 37645 - 37760
- 37762 - 37831
- 37840 - 37917
- 37918 - 38012
- 38016 - 38109
- 38111 - 38138
- 38139 - 38310
- 38316 - 38478
- 38483 - 38583