Best Cheap Auto Insurance in South Carolina
- Motorists must purchase the minimum liability insurance required by the state.
- Some residents may pay a yearly fee of $500 to register as uninsured motorists. This means that they are allowed by the state to drive. It does not, however, mean that these drivers have insurance coverage, in the event they need liability insurance.
Minimum liability insurance requirements are as follows:
- Bodily injury coverage per person: $25,000
- Coverage per accident: $50,000
- Personal property coverage: $25,000
If a driver is unable to prove liability coverage or show proof of uninsured motorist registration, penalties may range from fines to imprisonment and the loss of their drivers' licenses.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in South Carolina
Auto Insurance Fraud in South Carolina
The South Carolina Attorney General's Office reports that millions of dollars are lost every year in auto insurance fraud. At least 10 percent of all claims filed in South Carolina are fraudulent. Examples of auto insurance fraud are as follows:
- staged accidents.
- Referring accident victims to doctors, mechanics and lawyers for a fee.
- "Padding" an insurance claim to make up for the deductible.
- "Paper" accidents where an accident is reported but no accident ever took place.
- Hiding a car in a storage unit and reporting the car stolen.
- Issuing a false insurance policy.
- Altering an insurance card.
- Falsifying information on an insurance application.
- Filing a claim form for an accident that occurred in the past and was already compensated for.
South Carolina Alcohol-Related Accidents
South Carolina is the worst in the nation in regard to the percentage of traffic deaths involving drunk driving. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in South Carolina is 0.08 percent. However, the legal limit for commercial drivers is 0.04 percent and, for motorists under age 21, it is 0.02 percent.
South Carolina Interesting Laws
All states have their own antiquated, strange and humorous laws. Here are a few of South Carolina's:
- It is illegal in the state of South Carolina to keep a horse in a bathtub.
- It is illegal to fire a missile in South Carolina unless you have an official permit.
- In South Carolina, it is illegal to work on a Sunday .
Driving in South Carolina
Driving through South Carolina is scenic, historical and interesting. Motorists can take the Cherokee Scenic Highway at the southern edge of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This roadway follows an ancient Cherokee pathway. Tourists will see the locations of famous Revolutionary War battles, lakes and rivers, small villages and fruit orchards. There are protected lands like the Sandhills National Wildlife Refuge and interesting attractions, such as the Cheraw State Fish Hatchery. Did you know that the Campbell's Covered Bridge built in 1909 near Gowensville is the only remaining covered bridge in the state?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 29003 - 29071
- 29072 - 29169
- 29170 - 29306
- 29307 - 29406
- 29407 - 29479
- 29483 - 29550
- 29554 - 29601
- 29602 - 29641
- 29642 - 29680
- 29681 - 29734
- 29745 - 29910
- 29918 - 29944