Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Oregon
- For bodily injury and property damage per person: $25,000
- For others' property damage per crash: $10,000
- For bodily injury to others per crash: $50,000
- For personal injury protection for after-crash expenses: $15,000
- For uninsured motorist coverage at $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash.
Motorists in Oregon are required to carry proof of insurance at all times. If proof of insurance is not provided, this could result in a suspension of driver's license, fines and filing a mandatory SR-22 with the DMV.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Oregon
Oregon Insurance Fraud
Every year, millions of dollars from insurance fraud are lost in the state of Oregon. There are stiff fines and penalties for committing insurance fraud, but it is still on the rise. Here are some types of auto insurance fraud:
- Exaggerating on a claim form.
- Lying about the cause of an accident.
- Filing a report and claim for an accident that never actually happened. This is called a "paper" accident.
- Lying on an insurance application.
- Staging accidents.
- Filing a claim for an accident that actually happened in the past.
- Hiding a vehicle and reporting it "stolen" to collect on the insurance policy.
- Padding a claim form with high charges for auto repairs to make up for the deductible paid out.
- Issuing a bogus insurance policy or a fake or tampered-with insurance card.
Nationally, insurance fraud losses are in the billions of dollars. Because of this, policy holders are forced to pay higher premiums and are the real victims of insurance fraud.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Oregon
Roughly 350 fatal accidents occur in Oregon each year. A little over 100 of these are caused by drunk drivers and amount to almost 30 percent of all fatal accidents. Nationally, 65 percent of all fatal crashes are the result of a driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 percent or higher. Oregon has a zero-tolerance policy on teen drunk drivers. The BAC limit allowed in drivers under 21 is 0.00 percent. For commercial-vehicle drivers, the limit is 0.04 percent, and for drivers over 21, it is 0.08 percent.
Strange Laws in Oregon
As in all other states, Oregon has its own strange and humorous laws on the books. Here are a few of them:
- It is illegal to eat ice cream on Sundays.
- It is illegal to bathe without wearing suitable clothing.
- In Marion it is illegal to eat a doughnut while walking backwards on a city street.
Driving in Oregon
There are plenty of places to see on a motor tour through Oregon. In southern Oregon, Crater Lake is a main attraction with its 1,932 foot-deep lake that resulted from the eruption of the Mazama Volcano. The western coast area of Oregon offers ocean views and densely forested land. All tourists driving through Oregon should take in Hells Canyon where whitewater rafting is popular. Did you know that Hells Canyon is the nation’s deepest gorge?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 97002 - 97051
- 97055 - 97138
- 97140 - 97221
- 97222 - 97303
- 97304 - 97381
- 97383 - 97444
- 97446 - 97523
- 97524 - 97813
- 97814 - 97914