Best Cheap Auto Insurance in North Dakota
- Purchasing auto insurance of at least the minimum coverage requirements.
- Obtaining insurance through North Dakota's high risk auto insurance plan.
- By being self-insured (for companies with 25 vehicles or more).
Minimum Policy Requirements:
- Per person: $25,000
- For bodily injury per accident: $50,000
- Property damage per accident: $25,000
- Uninsured motorist of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- No-fault coverage: $30,000
All drivers in North Dakota must carry proof of insurance coverage. Driving without liability insurance is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by a mandatory fine of at least $150. Additionally, if you are involved in any accident, the state will assess 14 points against your drivers license, resulting in a suspension of your license.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in North Dakota
Auto Insurance Fraud in North Dakota
The North Dakota Insurance Department estimates that insurance fraud costs consumers between $400 and $700 a year in higher premiums. Auto insurance fraud can be something as simple as bolstering up the amount of damage that took place in an accident in order to make up for the insurance deductible payout.
Many policyholders would not consider this to be fraud, but it is. If caught, the penalty for committing insurance fraud is up to five years in state prison, up to $5,000 in fines, along with court costs and restitution. Other types of insurance fraud include, but are not limited to, staged accidents, referring clients to medical providers and attorneys for a fee, exaggerating injuries, issuing false insurance policies and bogus insurance cards.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in North Dakota
There is one alcohol-related accident every 8.6 hours in North Dakota. The blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit in North Dakota is 0.08 percent for drivers who are 21 and over. It is 0.02 percent for drivers under 21 and 0.04 percent for drivers operating a commercial vehicle. In any given year, there are roughly 150 accident fatalities in the state of North Dakota. Sixty of these traffic fatalities are caused by drunk drivers, revealing that over half of all traffic fatalities in North Dakota are alcohol related.
North Dakota's Unusual Laws
North Dakota has some interesting and unusual laws in the annals of the state legislature. Most people probably don't realize that these laws even exist. Here are a few:
- Anyone wearing a hat while dancing will be jailed. Anyone wearing a hat to a dance function will be incarcerated.
- It is illegal in North Dakota to serve beer and pretzels at the same time in any tavern or eating establishment.
- It is absolutely illegal to lie down and go to sleep with your shoes on.
Driving in North Dakota
People driving through North Dakota will find a land rich in Native American history and Old West lore. Driving through Medora, North Dakota, they will find wind-blown fields of grain and beautiful Lake Sakakawea. Travelers should also take a driving tour through the Sheyene River Valley with its quaint farms, old churches on the prairie and even a few one-room schoolhouses.
Did you know that explorers, Lewis and Clark, spent more time in North Dakota than any other place on their journeys through (what was then) America's wilderness?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 58027 - 58225
- 58230 - 58425
- 58456 - 58576
- 58577 - 58802