Best Cheap Auto Insurance in North Carolina
- For injuries or death involving one person in one accident: $30,000
- For injuries or deaths of more than one person in one accident: $60,000
- For property damage: $25,000
Proof of Insurance
Drivers in North Carolina must be able to prove that they have insurance. They must carry either a certificate of insurance (Form FS-1) or have the policy number and name of their insurance carrier. If there is ever a lapse in a driver's coverage, he or she will receive a Form FS 5-7 from the DMV. This must be filled out and returned to the DMV within 10 days indicating the new auto insurance information. If the form isn't returned within 10 days, the motorist's driver's license may be suspended for 30 days and a penalty fee assessed. Before the person's driver's license can be reinstated, the penalty fee must be paid and a completed Form FS-1 must be provided to the DMV.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in North Carolina
North Carolina Insurance Fraud
Insurance fraud in North Carolina comes in many forms. Some of these are as follows:
- Referring people to lawyers and doctors for a fee.
- Falsely reporting a stolen car.
- Charging for new parts when used parts are utilized.
- When traffic accident doctors charge excessively.
- Staging crashes and charging unsuspecting victims' insurance carriers.
- "Paper Accidents," where an accident report is filed but no accident really happened.
- False insurance policies and fake insurance cards.
North Carolina accidents caused by drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.10 percent and higher result in the greatest number of injuries and fatal accidents. Alcohol-related deaths and injuries cost the state millions of dollars each year.
Strange North Carolina Laws
Every state has a number of outdated laws on the books. These can be funny, nonsensical and even bizarre. Here are a few of North Carolina's unusual laws:
- In North Carolina, it is illegal to sing off key.
- Clubs in North Carolina are not allowed to hold meetings when their members are wearing costumes.
- It is illegal for dogs and cats to fight.
Driving in North Carolina
People who want to tour North Carolina should take the Outer Banks Road Trip. Motorists will see old, working lighthouses, surfers and kayakers braving the ocean waves, a car ferry, seafood restaurants, quaint shops and museums packed to the brim with North Carolina history.
One of North Carolina's most notable historical sites is the Wright Brothers National Museum in Kill Devil Hills. Did you know that this is where the Wright Brothers took their first flight?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 27006 - 27102
- 27103 - 27278
- 27282 - 27344
- 27357 - 27505
- 27508 - 27534
- 27536 - 27597
- 27601 - 27705
- 27707 - 27850
- 27855 - 27921
- 27924 - 28002
- 28012 - 28078
- 28079 - 28124
- 28125 - 28205
- 28206 - 28262
- 28269 - 28328
- 28332 - 28376
- 28377 - 28451
- 28455 - 28540
- 28546 - 28612
- 28613 - 28678
- 28680 - 28734
- 28739 - 28793
- 28801 - 28906