Best Cheap Auto Insurance in New Mexico
- For bodily injury/death of one person: $20,000
- For death/bodily injury of two or more people in one accident: $50,000
- For property damage per accident: $10,000
Proof of insurance or deposit must always be carried.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in New Mexico
Insurance Fraud in New Mexico
Insurance fraud in New Mexico causes multimillion-dollar losses each year. In fact, consumers pay premiums on their automobile insurance each year that are between $800 and $1,000 higher to absorb the cost of insurance fraud. Though certain people like to think that insurance fraud is a victimless crime, it actually effects everyone. Types of insurance fraud:
- Hiding a car in a storage unit or garage and then reporting it "stolen" in order to collect on the insurance policy.
- Engaging in staged accidents.
- Referring accident victims to a doctor, mechanic or attorney for a fee.
- Exaggerating on a claim form about injuries and car damage.
- "Paper" accidents, which are claims for accidents that never really occurred.
- Filing a police report and filling out a claim form for an accident that was already reported and an insurance claim was already paid out on.
- Lying on an insurance application.
- Issuing bogus insurance policies and fake insurance cards.
New Mexico's Alcohol-Related Accidents
Every year in the state of New Mexico there are an average of 400 fatal crashes. Roughly 150 of these fatalities are the result of driving under the influence of alcohol. This translates to roughly one-third of New Mexico's fatal accidents being alcohol related.
The blood alcohol content (BAC) DUI limit in New Mexico is 0.08 percent for drivers who are 21 and older. For drivers under the age of 21, the DUI limit is 0.02 percent, and for commercial drivers, it is 0.04 percent. New Mexico has a zero-tolerance policy for drinking and driving, especially for teen drivers. Drivers between the ages of 16 and 20 are the most likely to be killed while driving under the influence of alcohol. Those that do, normally have a BAC that is well over the legal limit.
New Mexico's Interesting Laws
Every state has an array of strange and interesting laws hidden in the records of the legislature. Most people don't know about them, but they are actual laws. Here are a few of New Mexico's:
- It is illegal to carry a lunchbox down Main Street in Las Cruces.
- In the city of Deming it is against the law to spit on the opera house steps.
- In the city of Carrizozo it is against the law for a female to appear unshaven in public.
Driving in New Mexico
New Mexico is a state that offers diverse opportunities for motor tours. At the foothills of the Guadalupe Mountains, motorists can follow a nine-mile gravel roadway to Carlsbad Cavern, which is one of the largest caves in the world. The Lincoln County area offers quarter-horse races and rich state history. Did you know that Lincoln County was the home of Billy the Kid?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 87002 - 87109
- 87110 - 87504
- 87505 - 88021
- 88030 - 88345
- 88352 - 88435