Best Cheap Auto Insurance in New Jersey
- Purchase basic coverage. This meets New Jersey's minimum requirements.
- Purchase standard coverage. This plan offers extra coverages.
- Become self-insured. This applies only to businesses with 25 or more vehicles.
- For injury or death to more than one person: $10,000
- For property damage: $5,000
- Injury/death of one person: $15,000
- Injury/death to more than one person: $30,000
- Property Damage: $5,000
- Personal Injury Protection: $15,000
- Uninsured or underinsured motorist: $15,000
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in New Jersey
New Jersey Auto Insurance Fraud
Staged accident rings also commit auto insurance fraud by actually causing accidents and then billing the unsuspecting drivers' insurance companies. People who "invent" traffic injuries, or exaggerate those that they do have, is another common form of auto insurance fraud. Falsifying or altering an insurance card constitutes insurance fraud, as well.
The problem with insurance fraud is that someone has to pay for it, and insurance companies must raise their rates in order to compensate for the money paid out in fraud. This costs the consumer up to $1,000 per year more in insurance premiums. Statewide, this results in millions of dollars lost to insurance fraud and, nationally, billions of dollars lost.
New Jersey Alcohol-Related Accidents
Every year in New Jersey there are roughly 508 auto accidents where drivers have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .10 percent or higher. (The legal BAC limit in New Jersey is 0.08 percent.) Alcohol-related accidents where drivers have BACs between 0.08 and 0.09 percent can result in about 400 injuries and 30 fatalities.
Strange New Jersey Laws
All states have their share of strange, unusual and nonsensical laws on the books. Here are a few of New Jersey's strange (but not enforced) laws:
- It is illegal in New Jersey to slurp when eating soup.
- It is also against the law in New Jersey to frown at a law enforcement officer.
- Any person convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey is forbidden from applying for personalized license plates for life.
Driving in New Jersey
Driving in New Jersey is especially picturesque during the fall with its crisp air and spectacularly colored leaves. Motorists can stop at one of New Jersey's quaint shops or seafood restaurants. Drivers can find cultural attractions in New Brunswick's museums and historical landmarks. Did you know that Upper Montclair's Iris Gardens is a National Historic Site?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 07002 - 07030
- 07031 - 07059
- 07060 - 07083
- 07087 - 07204
- 07205 - 07428
- 07430 - 07495
- 07501 - 07642
- 07643 - 07701
- 07702 - 07740
- 07746 - 07849
- 07853 - 07936
- 07938 - 08022
- 08026 - 08057
- 08059 - 08093
- 08094 - 08225
- 08226 - 08402
- 08502 - 08628
- 08638 - 08807
- 08809 - 08844
- 08846 - 08902
- 08904 - 08904