Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Nebraska
- Liability insurance per person, per accident: $25,000
- Liability insurance per accident bodily injury: $50,000
- Property damage per accident: $25,000
If a Nebraska driver does not want to purchase liability insurance, he or she may establish financial responsibility in three other ways:
- By making a cash deposit to the state treasurer in the amount of $75,000.
- By obtaining a certificate of self-insurance. (This is reserved for businesses that have 26 cars or more.)
- By obtaining a surety bond with a company that is authorized to do business in Nebraska.
All Nebraskans must carry proof of insurance when they are operating a motor vehicle. If there is no proof of insurance, the driver could be fined up to $500, have his or her license and registration suspended and be required to file an SR-22 with the DMV. This will result in higher premiums.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Nebraska
Nebraska Insurance Fraud
Nebraska's auto insurance fraud is much the same as auto fraud in the rest of the country. Examples of Nebraska’s auto insurance fraud take form in the filing of false accident reports, fraudulent insurance policies, staged accidents or exaggerated claims of injuries. Billions of dollars, nationally, are lost every year, and each year insurance fraud in Nebraska costs millions. Policyholders end up paying up to $1,000 in higher premiums yearly.
Nebraska's Alcohol-Related Accidents
Each year in Nebraska more than 12,000 motorists are arrested for driving while intoxicated. Out of roughly 33,000 automobile crashes, close to 1,900 of them are alcohol related. Nearly 900 of these accidents end up in injury, and alcohol-related driving fatalities are between 50 and 100.
The blood-alcohol content (BAC) limit in Nebraska is 0.08 percent for people over 21 and 0.02 percent for people under 21. Tragically, a typical yearly sampling of Nebraska's alcohol-related fatalities would reveal that 14 percent of the children killed car crashes lost their lives to a driver who had been drinking. Fifty-one percent of those children were riding in vehicles where the driver's BAC was 0.08 or higher.
Strange Nebraska Laws
Nebraska has some interesting laws on the books that are either outdated or just plain amusing. Here are a few of them:
- "Sneezing or burping is illegal during a church service."
- "It is Illegal to go whale fishing."
- "Doughnut holes may not be sold."
Driving Through Nebraska
National Geographic lists the Pioneer Trail in the south-central area of Nebraska as one of America's most spectacular road tours. On it, motorists will be able to see historical pioneer villages, log cabins and prairie museums. If they drive the tour in March or April, thousands and thousands of migrating sandhill cranes fly in V-formation between the Grand Island and North Platte.
Following the same route, when the motorists drive from Kearney to North Platte, they will be following the route of the Pony Express. Did you know that "Buffalo Bill" Cody came from North Platte, Nebraska?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 68002 - 68073
- 68102 - 68135
- 68136 - 68405
- 68410 - 68510
- 68512 - 68661
- 68666 - 68791
- 68801 - 68883
- 68901 - 69130
- 69138 - 69361