Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Montana
- For injury or death of one person: $25,000
- For injury or death of more than one person: $50,000
- For property damage: $10,000
Drivers who are pulled over and have no liability insurance will face severe penalties, including fines of up to $500, up to 10 days in jail and possibly even five derogatory points on their drivers' licenses. If they are unable to provide proof of insurance a second time, they will face a fine of $350 or more, up to 10 days in jail and a 90-day license suspension.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Montana
Montana Auto Insurance Fraud
In the state of Montana, there are several types of auto insurance fraud. One type of insurance fraud is the selling of fake policies to consumers with no intent of honoring insurance claims. These so-called policies are usually far under the minimum cost of other insurance policies.
Another type of Montana auto insurance fraud falls under the category of agent and broker fraud. These people will sell insurance policies to consumers even though they are not authorized to sell insurance in the state of Montana.
If the consumer does not get a policy or insurance card, this means that he or she has probably been scammed. On average, about 10 percent of all insurance claims filed in the state of Montana are fraudulent. These account for insurance premiums that are $200 to $1,000 a year higher.
Montana Alcohol-Related Accidents
Every year, 3,500 or more people are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of Montana. Each year, Montana has over 200 fatality crashes with about 90 of these deaths classified as alcohol-related.
This translates to just under 50 percent of Montana's traffic deaths being alcohol-related. Most of the alcohol-related traffic deaths in Montana are caused by drivers who have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least 0.08 which is the drunk driving limit in Montana.
Unusual Montana Laws
Montana has quite a few unusual laws on its books that either make no sense or are possibly dated back to an earlier era in its history. A few of these strange laws are as follows:
- "It is illegal to have a sheep in the cab of your truck without a chaperone."
- "Persons in possession of a “pea shooter” risk it being confiscated by police."
- "Worrying squirrels will not be tolerated." (How can you tell if a squirrel is worried?)
Driving in Montana
Anyone who drives through the state of Montana learns that this state has everything, including snow-capped mountain peaks, rolling hills, streams, rivers, lakes and plenty of American Indian history and folklore. Did you know that the Blackfeet Indians called the Rocky Mountains the "Backbone of the World"?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 59001 - 59218
- 59226 - 59412
- 59417 - 59602
- 59604 - 59828
- 59833 - 59937