Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Missouri
- Auto liability insurance
- Leave a real estate bond with the Department of Revenue.
- Leave a bond or deposit of $60,000 with the Department of Revenue.
- Dealers with more than 25 vehicles can be self-insured.
Auto insurance minimums are as follows:
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage.
- $10,000 per accident of property damage coverage.
The Department of Insurance in Missouri advises that drivers with a lot of assets purchase more than the minimum amount of auto insurance coverage, such as underinsured motorist and uninsured motorist coverages. Failure to provideinsurance can involve an auto owner being unable to register his or her vehicle, license suspension and a fine.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Missouri
Missouri Auto Insurance Fraud
According to the Missouri Department of Insurance, the auto insurance industry loses millions of dollars in fraudulent claims each year. Missouri's biggest losses are from "soft" fraud, such as using an address on a car registration and insurance policy that is in a ZIP code that has lower insurance rates.
Most people think that soft fraud doesn't hurt anyone, but that could not be further from the truth. Nationally, insurance fraud adds over $6 billion to the yearly auto premiums of policy holders. This breaks down to each family paying roughly $1,000 extra on their auto insurance premiums each year.
Alcohol-Related Auto Accidents
According to DUI-USA.DrinkDriving.org, a data bank of DUI statistics, every year in Missouri, over 30,000 people are arrested for drunk driving. Out of Missouri's 900 fatal traffic accidents each year, over 300 of them are caused by drunk drivers. This means that 34 percent of Missouri's fatal crashes each year are caused by people driving under the influence of alcohol. There are only four other states with more yearly alcohol-related traffic fatalities.
Penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol in Missouri are loss of license, stiff fines, jail time, the ignition interlock device and the filing of an SR-22 (proof of insurance) with the Department of Motor Vehicles for five years following a DUI conviction.
Strange Missouri Laws
In every state there are a few strange, outdated laws. Here are a few of Missouri's:
- "In Purdy, Missouri, dancing is strictly prohibited."
- "A milk man may not run while on duty."
- "Single men between the ages of twenty-one and fifty must pay an annual tax of one dollar (enacted 1820)."
Driving in Missouri
Missouri is a state that is beautiful and full of history. A good time to drive across the Missouri prairie country is in the spring with its spectacular blanket covering of new spring flowers in every shade of the rainbow.
Did you know that writer, Mark Twain, hailed from the state of Missouri? His books, Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, were based on life in Missouri on the Mississippi River.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 63005 - 63043
- 63044 - 63104
- 63105 - 63129
- 63130 - 63361
- 63366 - 63501
- 63537 - 63740
- 63755 - 63935
- 63957 - 64063
- 64064 - 64110
- 64111 - 64154
- 64155 - 64503
- 64504 - 64735
- 64744 - 65010
- 65013 - 65102
- 65109 - 65360
- 65401 - 65613
- 65616 - 65706
- 65707 - 65793
- 65801 - 65810