Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Mandatory Insurance Rates for Mississippi
All 50 states have mandatory, minimum liability insurance coverage requirements. These are the figures for Mississippi, as well as information about fines, penalties and any exemptions. The state of Mississippi requires a minimum of liability insurance in these amounts:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage
- A $50,000 per accident minimum
- $25,000 in personal property damage coverage
- Whether the vehicle is owned by a person or a company
- The vehicle's weight
- How the vehicle is used
The state also requires the same amounts for motorcycles, as well as the requirement to wear American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators-approved helmets. Mopeds and scooters are also required to be registered and covered by liability insurance if they are to be driven on state roads. Commercial vehicles are subject to the same minimum liability requirements as private passenger vehicles, except under certain circumstances including: The penalty for failure to follow these minimum requirements is a fine of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Mississippi
Insurance Fraud in Mississippi
Insurance fraud statistics fluctuate and vary from state to state. While on a national level insurance fraud has declined somewhat, it seems to be on the rise in Mississippi. One statistic that veers away from national norms is the type of vehicles reported stolen; as with many southern states, the top three types of vehicles reported stolen in Mississippi are pickup trucks.
The top auto insurance fraud claims in the state are false or padded claims for stolen or totaled vehicles that owners can no longer afford and have difficulty selling. The state has enacted several new laws to deal with this increase.
Alcohol-related Accident Statistics for Mississippi
As for alcohol-related traffic deaths, Mississippi is about even with the national average of 32 percent. The numbers in the last year for which statistics are available are 234 alcohol-related fatalities out of a total of 700 traffic deaths. That's down three percent from the amount of drunk driving deaths a few years previous, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Only in Mississippi
Every state has their unusual or quirky traffic laws. In the city of Tylerstown, Mississippi, it is illegal to shave in the middle of Main Street.
Did You Know?
Rout 61, the legendary "Blues Highway" runs along the scenic Mississippi River from Vicksburg to Memphis, Tennessee.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 38606 - 38701
- 38702 - 38852
- 38860 - 39051
- 39056 - 39154
- 39157 - 39218
- 39232 - 39403
- 39404 - 39520
- 39525 - 39577
- 39581 - 39744
- 39759 - 39773