Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Georgia
Mandatory Insurance Information for Georgia
Like most states, Georgia requires a mandatory minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance. The state requires that all vehicles registered must be covered, with no lapses in coverage, and that information regarding the retention or cancellation of coverage must be submitted to the Georgia MVD electronically by both the insurer and the registered owner of the vehicle.
Below are the minimum insurance amounts required in Georgia, and the penalties involved for violating the mandatory liability insurance laws.
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 limit per accident
- $25,000 property damage
The penalty for failure to carry the mandatory liability insurance are suspension of the vehicle registration and the possibility of having the vehicle impounded.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Georgia
Insurance Fraud in Georgia
Insurance fraud ranges from padding the amount of an insurance claim to staging an accident, theft, or arson in order to file an false insurance claim. Though insurance fraud cases are up on a national level, Georgia has a fairly low overall rate of about one reported case of fraud per 50,000 residents, and a decline of 34 percent during the course of the study. The conviction rate is .06 offenders per 10,000 residents.
Insurance fraud is a felony in Georgia, and a conviction for insurance fraud carries a penalty of either a minimum of 2 years to a maximum of 10 years in prison, a fine of up to $10,000.00, or both. There may also be restitution ordered and the possibility of civil action
Alcohol-related Accident Statistics for Georgia
Alcohol-related traffic accidents continue to be a problem, constituting more than 30 percent of all traffic fatalities. Three persons out of ten will be involved in an alcohol-related crash at some time in their lives. In the state of Georgia, 3311 out of 284 traffic fatalities involved alcohol. That is 26 percent of all fatalities, according to the latest figures available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. That figure is down slightly from previous years. A person is legally drunk in the state of Georgia if they are:
- Of legal drinking age and have a blood-alcohol level of at least .08 percent
- Under the legal drinking age with a blood-alcohol level of at least .02 percent
- A commercial driver with a blood-alcohol level of at least .04 percent
Only in Georgia
Every state has its unique or unusual laws, and Georgia is no exception. For instance, it is illegal to spit from a car or bus in the city of Marietta. In Dublin, it is illegal to drive through playgrounds.
Did You Know?
The first reflective license plate issued in the United States was in Georgia in 1941.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 30002 - 30024
- 30025 - 30054
- 30058 - 30092
- 30093 - 30125
- 30126 - 30176
- 30179 - 30240
- 30241 - 30291
- 30293 - 30324
- 30326 - 30363
- 30401 - 30503
- 30504 - 30541
- 30542 - 30630
- 30631 - 30722
- 30725 - 30901
- 30904 - 31031
- 31032 - 31092
- 31093 - 31329
- 31331 - 31520
- 31521 - 31632
- 31634 - 31742
- 31750 - 31822
- 31825 - 39851