Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Arkansas
The state of Arkansas requires a minimum amount of auto liability insurance for any registered vehicle. A driver who has their license suspended for insurance-related traffic violations, DUI, or reckless driving is required to obtain an SR 22 as well. The required amounts are listed below. Minimum for auto insurance:
- $25,000 bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 property damage
Minimum coverage amounts are also the same for motorcycles and commercial vehicles. All insurance providers in Arkansas must also offer uninsured motorist coverage by law. Failure to keep the minimum required liability insurance will result in suspension of the vehicle's registration.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Arkansas
Insurance Fraud in Arkansas
Insurance fraud is a serious and costly crime. Although padding a claim and other 'soft' incidents of fraud may seem minor and victimless, insurance fraud cost consumers an estimated $13.7 billion dollars in increased annual insurance premiums. The amount is $200 million dollars per year in Arkansas alone. A person is guilty of insurance fraud if they:
- Fake or exaggerate injuries after an accident
- Exaggerate damage claims
- Stage or intentionally cause an accident fo the purpose of collecting premiums
- Stage a theft, fire, or other crime for the purpose of collecting insurance payment
- Knowing collect insurance payouts under fakse pretenses
- Conspire with others to commit insurance fraud
- Knowingly give false or misleading statements in order to illegally collect premiums
Convictions for auto insurance fraud in the state of Arkansas will result in fines, restitution, and jail time; punishment is dependent on the type and severity of the fraud perpetrated.
Alcohol-related Traffic Accidents in Arkansas
Drunk driving is the leading criminal cause of death in the United States. The good news is that alcohol-related accidents are down nationwide, and the state of Arkansas is no exception. According to statistics from the Arkansas State Police in 2013, 41 percent, or 203 out of 499 fatal car crashes were alcohol-related. That amount is down from previous years, and is below the national average. A first offense for DUI in Arkansas will result in a fine of $150-$1,000 and up to a year in jail and a license suspension of 6 months. Subsequent convictions will result in additional fines, as well as longer suspensions and jail time.
Only in Arkansas
There are some traffic laws that may seem strange or unusual, and every state has one or two. In Little Rock, Arkansas, it is illegal to honk one's horn after 9 p.m. outside of any place that serves food and beverages.
Did You Know?
Flirting with a member of the opposite sex on a public street is punishable by 30 days in jail in the city of Little Rock.
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 71601 - 71765
- 71801 - 71958
- 72006 - 72086
- 72104 - 72210
- 72211 - 72404
- 72413 - 72560
- 72576 - 72730
- 72740 - 72902
- 72903 - 72959