Best Cheap Auto Insurance in Arizona
- Drivers must have $15,000 of bodily injury insurance.
- Drivers must also have $30,000 of total bodily injury coverage (for passengers in the car).
- Arizona drivers must have $10,000 of property damage insurance.
Factors that Determine Insurance Premiums
- Driving record, including the number and circumstances of any auto accidents
- Marital status
- Make of car
- Credit Score
- Number of miles normally driven
If this seems subjective, it's because it is. Insurance providers study the demographics of the types of drivers they insure and provide insurance accordingly.
Insurance is Mandatory
People who live in Arizona and drive must obtain liability insurance through an Arizona insurance company. Penalties for driving without insurance include the suspension of that person’s driver's license and vehicle registration. After the suspension period has passed, that person must prove financial responsibility to have his or her license and registration re-instated.
- When registering a car in Arizona, a driver must provide the minimum insurance coverage required by law immediately. In fact, the car should not be driven until auto insurance is obtained.
- Anyone convicted of driving on a suspended license, reckless driving or a DUI will be required to provide the DMV with an SR-22 form. When a driver purchases auto insurance, the insurance agent fills out the SR-22 on his or her behalf and files it with the DMV. Remember, an SR-22 is not an insurance policy. It is proof of insurance.
Cheapest Auto Insurance Quotes in Arizona
Insurance Fraud in Arizona
Insurance fraud in the state of Arizona is big business. In fact, according to the Arizona Department of Insurance, 30 percent of all insurance claims for bodily injury are fraudulent. This ends up being passed on to the consumer in annual premiums that are roughly $200 higher.
Another point of concern to both consumers and the companies that insure them is the number of alcohol-related accidents each year. Of particular concern is how young some of the drivers tend to be. While children under the age of 15 make up .13 percent of the all the alcohol-related crashes, it is difficult to envision a 7-year-old driving under the influence of alcohol. But, according to the Arizona Crash Facts Summary, it happens. In 2015, the largest grouping of alcohol-related accidents occurs in the 25- through 34-year-old age group who have 30 percent of all Arizona alcohol-related accidents. Surprisingly, most alcohol-related accidents occur when road conditions are dry.
Unusual Arizona Traffic Laws
It’s against the law to drive a car in reverse on a public road.
The "Stupid Motorist Law" (that’s what it’s called) states that any motorist who becomes stranded after driving around barricades to enter a flooded stretch of roadway may be charged for the cost of any rescue.
Since many Prescott, Arizona residents enjoy horseback riding, there are plenty of unique traffic laws supporting equine transportation. Did you know that one such law declares that anyone riding a horse up the stairs of a county courthouse will be arrested on the spot?
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male or female, 35 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
- Find Car Insurance in Your Zip Code
- 85001 - 85023
- 85024 - 85054
- 85079 - 85209
- 85210 - 85250
- 85251 - 85295
- 85296 - 85340
- 85344 - 85388
- 85390 - 85636
- 85641 - 85718
- 85719 - 85925
- 85928 - 86323
- 86326 - 86442