|Auto Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma
Auto insurance in Oklahoma is a vital part of the driving experience in Oklahoma City, Tulsa and beyond. Here are some relevant facts and interesting tips about Oklahoma auto insurance.
How Much Insurance Fraud In Oklahoma?
According to the Oklahoma Insurance Department’s Anti-Fraud Handout, 431 cases of automobile claims in this state have been investigated as fraudulent. The Anti-Fraud Unit is committed to reducing the amount of insurance fraud in Oklahoma through investigations and prosecutions. In turn, this can help insurance providers from having to increase premiums.
Alcohol-related Accidents in Oklahoma
The state saw more than 4,400 alcohol-related crashes, according to the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office. However, only 244 of these alcohol-related crashes resulted in fatalities. The percentage of fatal crashes of this type has decreased slightly compared to recent times. More crashes happened in rural sections of the state than in cities like Oklahoma City and Tulsa.
Odd or Unique Laws That Are Specific to Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, roaming comic book readers should beware. When driving in the Sooner State, it’s against the law to read a comic book at the same time, according to Dumb Laws. Another odd law prohibits tissues in the back of cars, a concern for Oklahoma’s allergy season. Also, one outdated law insists that vehicles left parked outside public buildings must be properly tethered.
"Did You Know"
The famous Route 66 travels through more than 400 miles in Oklahoma, according to TravelOK. Memorialized in numerous songs and films, Route 66 gives drivers a chance to visit many of Oklahoma’s cities, towns and scenic locations. Museums, attractions and even vintage gas stations can be visited.
State Specific Insurance Requirements
According to the Oklahoma Insurance Department, the Oklahoma minimum liability limits are:
An easy way to remember this is 25/50/25. Anyone who wants a driver’s license in Oklahoma will need to provide proof of insurance. Also, the Oklahoma Tax Commission requires drivers to share proof of insurance when vehicles are registered and when the registration is renewed annually. A 25/50/25 plan can provide basic and affordable coverage. Additional coverage can provide drivers with extra protection.
Drivers throughout Oklahoma benefit from auto insurance tailored to their specific needs.
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person per accident
- $50,000 for all people injured per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident