AutoInsuranceCenter: A Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes & Rates Company 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Enter Your Zip Code to Get
Insurance Offer in Your Area!
 
Save $400 on average.*
After getting instant quotes, there's no commitment to buy.
Spend 6 of the most useful minutes of your life with us.
Delivering low cost insurance since 1997.
Your information is safe with us!
* Why would you spend an entire day filling out dozens of forms across these sites that promise some savings, when we can almost guarantee you the lowest rates? The fact is, other well-known companies don't want you to know about us because we force them to be price competitive for a change.
 
Auto Insurance Requirements in Alaska
Though there are Federal laws that govern certain activities at a national level, the majority of traffic and insurance legislation is decided at state level. Here is some information about Insurance requirements for the state of Alaska, as well as some statistics and a few interesting traffic facts.

Insurance Requirements for Alaska

Alaska Statute AS 28.22.101 covers mandatory insurance and registration requirements for the state. This is the minimum, mandatory liability coverage under that statute for all registered vehicle owners:
  • $50,000/$100,000 bodily injury or death coverage
  • $25,000 property damage coverage
  • An SR 22 for registered vehicle owners with suspended operators' licenses
Failure to meet the minimum requirements will result in license suspension.Owners must also carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times, under penalty of impoundment. Persons with six points or more on their license in a five-year period must carry minimum liability coverage even in exempt areas. According to Alaska Statute AS 28.22.011(1)(A) & (B), these areas are exempt from the mandatory insurance and registration legislation.

Insurance Fraud in Alaska

Insurance fraud is a serious problem, causing insurance premiums costing consumers an estimated 13 - 18 percent increase in their auto insurance premiums per year. In the state of Alaska, insurance fraud is a criminal act under Alaska Statute § 21.36.360, ranging from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class B felony, depending on the severity of the crime. One is guilty of insurance fraud under this statute if they:
  • Collect an unprovided charge or premium
  • Knowingly provides false oral or written statement to an insurance underwriter
  • Conspires or colludes with another person or persons to make such provide such statements
  • Intentionally accepts excess premiums or charges
  • Misappropriates or illegally holds premiums
  • Fails to pay title tax when due

Alcohol-related Accidents Statistics for Alaska

Alcohol is a major factor in many traffic accidents, often with deadly consequences. In the state of Alaska, alcohol was a factor in one third of all highway fatalities. The good news is that this shows a decrease in alcohol-related traffic fatalities overall. A National Highway Traffic Safety Administration study that was conducted over a 16-year period found that of the traffic fatalities on Alaska's roads, 52.6 percent were alcohol-related; the good news is that number is decreasing and now stands 31 percent.

Only in Alaska

Every state has it's own legal peculiarities. Some of these laws are just common sense and some make one wonder why it was necessary to write such legislation. In the state of Alaska, it is illegal for one to tether their dog to the roof of their car or to luggage racks affixed to the roof of the car. Violators face fines and possible jail time.

Did you know?

In the state of Alaska, it is unlawful for moose to mate on public streets; there was no word on the penalty involved for infractions.

 
Car Insurance Library
 
 
Insurance Company Reviews
 
State by State Guides
 
Get FREE Auto Insurance Quotes:
Compare Rates from Leading Providers
 
 

Insurance Education

 

Tips Center

More Tips

Insurance News