Wisconsin motorists can establish financial responsibility
by doing one of the following:
- Purchasing at least the minimum insurance coverage required.
- Making a $60,000 cash deposit.
- Filing a bond.
- Injury/death, one person, one accident: $25,000
- Injuries/deaths, more than one person, one accident: $50,000
- Property damage: $10,000
Wisconsin Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Wisconsin Auto Insurance Fraud
Wisconsin, like the other states in the nation, has a high rate of auto insurance fraud. Nationally, insurance company losses are in the billions of dollars every year. In Wisconsin, it is in the millions. The sad part about auto insurance fraud is that it is not a "victimless" crime.
Policyholders end up paying close to $1,000 more per year in insurance premiums to make up for the money lost to ongoing fraud. The real victim of insurance fraud is the consumer. Here are some examples of insurance fraud occurring in Wisconsin:
- "Padding" claims with fabricated expenses in order to recover the deductible.
- Lying on an insurance application.
- Hiding a car in a storage space and reporting it "stolen" in order to collect on the insurance policy.
- Fraudulent insurance policies.
- Tampering with an insurance card to make it appear that the insurance coverage is still in effect.
- Accident staging rings.
- Referring an accident victim to a doctor, lawyer or repair establishment for a fee.
- "Paper accidents," which are accidents reported that never happened. They exist on paper only.
Wisconsin's Alcohol-Related Accidents
Wisconsin had more than 24,000 convictions for drunk driving in 2014. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Wisconsin is 0.08 percent for motorists who are 21 and older. Commercial drivers are considered intoxicated at a BAC of 0.04 percent, and drivers under 21 are considered to be drunk when their BAC is at 0.02 percent.
Penalties for driving while intoxicated in the state of Wisconsin will vary, depending upon a variety of factors, such as age, previous record, BAC number and more. Motorists convicted of a DUI may have to serve jail time, pay a stiff fine and may have to obtain SR-22 insurance which is very expensive.
Wisconsin's Unusual Laws
Wisconsin has its fair share of strange laws on the books. Here are a few:
- It is illegal to serve butter substitutes in state prisons.
- It is against the law to serve apple pie anywhere in the state of Wisconsin unless it is served with a slice of cheese.
- Kissing is illegal on trains.
Driving in Wisconsin
Wisconsin is a beautiful state and known for its tranquil, panoramic views. One driving tour runs through Door County, which is along the shores of Lake Michigan. Along this drive, travelers will see dairy farms, lighthouses, shimmering water, quaint shops, apple orchards and several state parks.
No matter what part of Wisconsin a motorist explores, surprises are around every bend in the road. Did you know that if you placed Wisconsin's streams and rivers end to end, they would stretch for 26,767 miles?