Auto insurance in Texas is mandatory. Drivers must carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. All laws should be observed to prevent accidents and reduce insurance costs.
Auto Insurance in Texas
Auto insurance is mandatory, but insurance costs are manageable if the rules are followed and costs are kept low. Insurance deals are obtained when drivers have a responsible history and know the applicable laws.
Texas Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Texas Auto Insurance Facts
• Government-mandated insurance law. Insurance in Texas is mandatory. Drivers must have at least $30,000 worth of coverage for one person, $60,000 per injured person in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
• Proof of Financial Responsibility is Required at All Times. Drivers must have proof of insurance or they may be fined between $175 and $350. If the law is violated more than once, fines up to $1000 may be assessed, and the driver’s license may be suspended. The driver’s vehicle may also be impounded.
• Uninsured Vehicle Reduction Program.The number of uninsured motorists decreased when the TexasSure electronic verification program was implemented. This database links every registered vehicle with license plate number and also insurance policy number. Even though this system is in place, drivers are allowed to keep proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times.
Insurance Fraud in Texas
Insurance fraud is defined when people intentionally deceive the insurance company for financial gain. It is considered a crime in Texas. Common insurance fraud includes falsely reporting a car stolen or intentionally damaging a vehicle and collecting insurance payouts. Auto insurance fraud causes insurance companies to raise rates to compensate for monetary losses due to fraudulent claims.
A fraud conviction may include a prison sentence of several years in Texas. A fine of up to $50,000 may also be included with this sentence. In some states, the financial penalties would increase up to $100,000, and jail time would be assessed up to 15 years.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Texas
In any given year, the number of alcohol-related accidents in Texas have equaled over 26 percent of the total number of accidents. This could equate to 1,000 accidents or more. According to some sources, Texas has more alcohol-related accidents than any other state.
Experts attribute this to the fact that residents in counties without alcohol have to drive farther from their homes to consume alcohol. This increases impaired driving. Texas is currently seeking extra federal funding to reduce the number of DWIs and DUIs.
Unique Driving Laws in Texas
In Richardson, Texas, it is illegal to do u-turns. Drivers in the area must find a place to make a proper right or left turn to get into the proper direction.
Did You Know? Unique Facts About Texas Driving
Did you know that it is illegal to drive a vehicle on Broadway before 12 P.M. on Sundays in Galveston? Drivers may be ticketed and fined for this violation.
If a horse and buggy is the preferred vehicle of choice, it cannot be driven through the town square.