Drivers in Rhode Island must obtain at least the minimum amount of auto insurance required
by the state. This is the only way to prove financial responsibility. Insurance requirements are as follows:
- For bodily injury coverage for injuries or death to one person in one accident: $25,000
- For bodily injury coverage for injuries or death to more than one person in one accident: $50,000
- For property damage coverage per accident: $25,000
Drivers who are unable to provide proof of insurance will be cited and may have to pay a fine of up to $500 and have their licenses suspended for three months. If they prove within 10 days of the citation that they had coverage on the day of the citation, their penalties may be waived. Rhode Island requires that drivers carry their insurance cards at all times.
Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Insurance Fraud in Rhode Island
Many innocent people are hurt by auto insurance fraud in the State of Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Division of Insurance Regulation reports that millions of dollars are lost each year in insurance fraud and that consumers end up paying for it in higher premiums.
Nationally, insurance fraud accounts for billions of dollars in losses. Here are some examples of insurance fraud in Rhode Island:
- Fraudulent auto insurance policies.
- Fake insurance cards.
- Accident-staging scams.
- Referring people to attorneys/medical providers for a fee.
- "Paper" accidents. (These are accidents on claim forms that never actually occurred.)
- Reporting a car as stolen, when it is actually hidden in a storage unit or garage.
- Exaggerating injuries and damage to collect more from the insurance companies.
Penalties for committing auto insurance fraud in the state of Rhode Island are potential prison or jail time, fines and restitution. Rhode Island actively seeks out and prosecutes insurance fraud.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Rhode Island
The majority of Rhode Island's injury and fatal accidents are alcohol related, and these continually exceed the nation's accident rates. Forty-one percent of Rhode Island's injury/fatal accidents are related to driving under the influence of alcohol.
This means that roughly 40 of the 90 alcohol-related accidents in Rhode Island are either fatal or involve serious injuries.
Interesting Rhode Island Laws
Rhode Island has its share of interesting, archaic laws on the books. Here are a few of them:
- When passing a car on the left, a loud noise must be made.
- It is illegal to test the speed of a horse on any public highway.
- Biting off another person's leg is against the law.
Driving Through Rhode Island
Driving through Rhode Island is an adventure in foliage, history and classic New England architecture. Motorists can see the changing of the leaves if they tour Rhode Island in the fall. There are lighthouses to see, farms, mills and even a castle of sorts in Smith's Castle.
Antique lovers will enjoy driving through the rich Rhode Island countryside, stopping at quaint antique shops that seem to be around every corner. Did you know that Rhode Island is the smallest state in the nation and the last of the original 13 colonies to achieve statehood?