Auto insurance in New York is required by law, and it is a no-fault state. Proof of insurance should be present in the vehicle at all times. Everyone should be aware of the laws to avoid hefty fines.
Auto Insurance in New York
Obtain auto insurance in New York from a reputable insurance agent. This person will ensure that proper coverage is obtained and both the vehicle and passengers will be properly protected.
New York Insurance Facts
Insurance in New York is Mandatory. Every person in New York should have at least $25,000 for bodily injury liability, $50,000 for two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage liability. "No-fault" coverage of $50,000 also is required.
Must Have Proof of Financial Responsibility. Liability coverage must be issued and must remain in the name of the registrant, and there must be proof of financial responsibility at all times.
No Fault or Tort State. New York follows the no fault rules. This means that the insurance company will pay a portion regardless of who was at fault. Typically, fault must be established, and the person at fault must pay for damages and medical expenses.
Insurance Fraud in New York
In New York, the penalty for auto insurance fraud is a civil penalty of $1,000 for the first offense or false identification card and $5,000 for each additional one. Insurance fraud is a big issue in New York, and insurance companies are urging reform to New York’s no-fault insurance system. Under the current law, insurance companies adjust claims without assigning blame for an accident. No-fault insurance seems to make it easier to file fraudulent injury claims.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in New York
In 2014, there were 7,849 accidents in New York related to alcohol, and there were 207 fatalities due to alcohol. By far, men are most often involved in these crashes a result of alcohol.
Unique Driving Laws in New York
In New York, it is illegal to change clothes in your car. Every resident should ensure that they change clothes before they leave home to avoid fines and possible jail time.
Did You Know? Unique Facts About New York Driving
Did you know that New York was one of the first states to make it illegal to use handheld mobile devices while driving?
Only 911 can be dialed while in motion. Otherwise, a hands-free phone system must be used. Most drivers use Bluetooth to avoid fines of $50 to $200 for having conversations while driving.