New Hampshire Insurance Fraud
All states have their share of auto insurance fraud, and New Hampshire is no exception. New Hampshire's Department of Justice reports that the two biggest types of auto insurance fraud in New Hampshire are staged accidents and "embellished" claims. Staged accidents are on the rise because of the downturn of the American economy.
Staged accident crime rings contract with unethical medical providers to cause collisions and overbill insurance companies. Embellished claims occur when injuries are exaggerated or even fabricated.
Also, some unethical people may use an address on their auto registration, driver's license and insurance application because rates are lower in that particular zip code. Insurance fraud is not a victimless crime. Policyholders pay up to $1,000 extra each year in their premiums because of insurance fraud.
New Hampshire Alcohol-Related Accidents
Each year, there are at least 4,500 alcohol-related traffic accidents in the state of New Hampshire. Approximately 100 of these are fatal. Thirty-five percent of these accident fatalities are caused by drivers who have been drinking. Thirty percent of these alcohol-related fatality accidents are caused by a driver who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least 0.08 percent which is the drunk driving limit.
Interesting New Hampshire Laws
New Hampshire has its fair share of unusual and humorous laws on the books that date back to an earlier era. A few of these are as follows:
- Patrons of taverns, restaurants or cafes are not permitted to keep time to the music in these establishments by tapping their feet or nodding their heads.
- It is illegal in New Hampshire to pay off gambling debts by selling the clothes that you are wearing.
- Anyone caught picking up litter, constructing a park bench, hauling away refuse, or raking the sand on beaches without a permit will be arrested.
Driving in New Hampshire
Driving through New Hampshire is an adventure with culture, scenery, foliage and quaint towns packed with history. Drivers may want to visit the Littleton Grist Mill or the old Manchester Textile Factories. Did you know that New Hampshire has over 1,300 lakes and ponds and that New Hampshire was the first state where potatoes were grown?
New Hampshire Insurance Requirements
New Hampshire does not requiredrivers to have auto liability insurance in most cases, but drivers must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event of an “at-fault” accident.
Below is a list of some examples of why an SR-22 may be required. Please be advised that this list does not contain all the reasons an SR-22 may be required:
Individuals convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) are mandated to file proof of insurance for a minimum of three years from date of conviction for a first offense and longer for subsequent offenses.
If someone is being decertified as an habitual offender, before license/operating privileges can be restored, that person must file proof of insurance for a minimum of three years from the date of his/her habitual offender decertification hearing.
Individuals who appear at administrative hearings for certain offenses, such as Demerit Points, may be mandated to file insurance as a condition of retaining a license, or if the license is suspended, as a condition of restoration.
- Individuals found at fault for an uninsured accident are mandated to file proof of insurance for a minimum of three (3) years from the date of the accident. Please note the filing period will be extended following defaulting a payment agreement or if a judgment is obtained.
For people required to carry liability insurance, the state minimums are as follows:
- For injuries or death of one person in one accident: $25,000
- For injuries or deaths of more than one person in a single accident: $50,000
- For property damage per accident: $25,000
People required to carry insurance (also called "SR-22 insurance") must carry proof of coverage.