To satisfy Maine's financial responsibility law
, all drivers must purchase insurance with the following minimum coverage amounts:
- Injury or death to any one person: $50,000
- Total payout for one accident resulting in the injury or death of more than one person: $100,000
- Property damage: $25,000
Auto insurance must be purchased from a company authorized to sell insurance in the state of Maine. Proof of insurance must show the following information:
- Policy Number
- Vehicle's make, model and year
- License plate number and VIN
- Effective date and expiration date
- Amount of insurance
Drivers who fail to have proof of insurance coverage may be cited and have their license and registration suspended until they file an SR-22 insurance certificate with the state.
Maine Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Maine Auto Insurance Fraud
Auto insurance fraud in the state of Maine can come in many forms. Staged accidents are an extreme form of auto insurance fraud. So is concealing information when applying for an auto insurance policy.
Exaggerating the severity of auto accident injuries amounts to fraud, as does a body shop's deliberate failure to make all repairs (even though they sign off and indicate that all repairs are completed).
Whether it is small or large, auto insurance fraud hurts everyone because it causes insurance premiums to be higher. Millions of dollars are lost each year in Maine to auto insurance fraud and billions nationally.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration cites Maine's annual traffic fatalities between 150 and 200, with approximately 50 of these deaths directly attributed to alcohol-impaired driving. Drivers who have previous driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions will be arrested for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of less than the 0.08 percent drunk driving limit. Maine has lowered the legal BAC limit for these drivers to 0.05 percent. This has proved effective in bringing down drunk driving deaths.
Strange Maine Laws
Maine has some interesting laws worth noting. A few of them are listed below:
- It is illegal to park in front of Dunkin Donuts.
- It is illegal to expectorate (spit) from any second-story.
- If any part of the sign ordinances of the city are more stringent than federal laws, even though they may be in conflict with them, they will prevail.
Driving in Maine
Maine is one of the most picturesque states in the nation with its blue lakes, rocky beaches and abundant foliage. It is especially beautiful in the fall when the leaves are changing.
Summer is the best time to explore Maine via road trips. Acadia National Park has an expansive scenic 27-mile road network that offers scenic views of the coast and tree-covered inland mountains. Did you know that John D. Rockefeller, Jr. built Acadia National Park's extensive network of carriage roads?
According to the National Park Service, they are “the finest example of broken stone roads designed for horse-drawn vehicles still extant in America.” The 45 miles of these scenic carriage roads are still available for biking and hiking.