Indiana requires that all drivers be able to be financially responsible for any auto accident where they are at fault. One way to do this is to file a deposit in the amount of $40,000 with the State of Indiana. They can also file a bond or a certificate of self-insurance with the state. The most widely utilized proof of financial responsibility is for drivers to have liability insurance coverage in at least the minimum amount required. Minimum Coverage Requirements
in Indiana are as follows:
- Liability Coverage per Injured Person: $25,000
- Total Liability per Accident: $50,000
- Property Damage: $10,000
Anyone driving without insurance coverage in the state of Indiana will have his or her license suspended for 90 days and will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $50. The reinstatement fee for the second offense is $150 and a license suspension of 90 days.
For a third violation, the 90-day suspension applies in addition to a $300 reinstatement fee. A driver who violates Indiana's auto insurance requirements within a one-year period will lose his or her license for one year. Indiana's yearly insurance premiums average at approximately $650. The national average is around $850. Of course, these will fluctuate from year to year.
Indiana Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Insurance Fraud in Indiana
Indiana has, essentially, the same types of insurance fraud as many of the other states. These include collecting on insurance claims for fraudulent acts, such as staged collisions, collecting on fraudulent claims for auto theft or damage and claiming auto-accident injuries that did not happen. The Coalition Against Insurance Fraud reports the cost of insurance fraud amounts to billions of dollars being lost nationally with millions of dollars lost in the state of Indiana.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Indiana averages more than 750 traffic fatalities each year, with roughly 26 percent of these deaths occurring as a result of drivers with blood alcohol content (BAC) levels at the legal drunk-driving limit of 0.08 percent. Close to 20 percent of Indiana's fatality crashes are caused by drivers with a BAC of .15 and higher. Statistics like these require that a driver be on the lookout for drunk drivers, and defensive driving should always be the rule.
Strange Indiana Laws
In the state of Indiana it is illegal to pass a horse on the street. It is also illegal to sell cars in Indiana on a Sunday and to back into a parking space.
If you want to buy a car on a Sunday, you won't be able to do it in the state of Indiana because, in Indiana, it is illegal to buy cars on Sunday.
Did you know that, according to "Weird Facts," if a person were to drive down Main Street in the city of Evansville, Indiana, it would be illegal for that person to turn on his or her headlights at night or in the daytime?
On a serious note, anyone driving through Indiana should take advantage of the many scenic driving tours throughout the state of Indiana. Tourists will find Amish settlements, covered bridges, rugged hills and picturesque nineteenth-century villages and towns.