Auto insurance in Illinois should be obtained as protection in the event of an accident. Every driver should be aware of the rules of the road and insurance laws to ensure adequate protection. Review these tips and choose the best coverage.
Auto Insurance Fraud in Illinois
Some people may attempt to obtain compensation from an insurer through fraudulent means. This is known as insurance fraud. Insurance fraud is typically investigated by fraud bureaus, but Illinois does not have any fraud bureaus.
Several auto insurance scams involve staged automobile collisions. One is called the swoop and squat. This scam involves three vehicles in which one is the victim. The other two cars actually force the accident to happen when the first vehicle swoops in front of the second vehicle and then, slams on brakes. The unsuspecting vehicle rear-ends the second vehicle. This collision is the beginning of the scam.
Alcohol-Related Accidents in Illinois
Currently, 35 percent of accidents in Illinois are related to alcohol. In most of these accidents, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over 0.08. The number deaths related to alcohol is declining, but there are still at least 298 deaths involving alcohol on the roads.
Unique Laws in Illinois
In Illinois, there is a law that states that the car must be driven with the steering wheel. Those people considering modifying their vehicles to drive it other ways may receive a fine, ticket, or jail time.
Did You Know? Unique Facts About Illinois Driving
Did you know that in Crete, Illinois it is illegal to drive through town? Be aware of this unique fact, and you may be charged with a fine. There is also a ban against driving repetitively on 23rd Avenue.
In Evanston, it is illegal to change clothes in a car with the curtains drawn. Fire is the only exception to this rule. In Freeport, drivers are required to move their vehicles four months out of the year even when the weather is not favorable.
Illinois Auto Insurance Facts
• Insurance in Illinois is Mandatory. Any vehicle registered in the state of Illinois must be insured. The vehicle must carry $20,000 for death or injury, $15,000 for damage to personal property, and $40,000 per accident for injury and death.
• Fines Assessed for Not Having Proof of Insurance. Every driver in Illinois should have liability insurance or a minimum fine of $500 will be assessed. It costs less to be insured than to break the law and pay the fines.
• No Fault or Tort State. Illinois follows the tort system. By definition, a tort system must find a person at fault for the accident. When fault has been identified, the person and the insurance company will be required to pay for the damages.
Auto Insurance in Illinois
Auto insurance in Illinois is mandatory and recommended to prove financial responsibility in an accident. Selecting the proper auto insurance can ensure that all medical expenses and damages are paid in a reasonable time frame. Since Illinois operates from a tort system, fault must be identified. Good insurance will provide necessary coverage.