Florida residents do not have to purchase auto insurance, but they do need to be able to take financial responsibility if they cause a collision. Florida is a no-fault state, so the person who caused the collision will not necessarily be determined at first.
The need to do so may present itself at a later date. Until then, those injured in a car crash will be required to file a claim with their own insurance companies for their Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage, or they will file a claim with the company that insures the car in which they were riding.
Florida Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Florida drivers are required to have the following types of auto insurance coverage to comply with the state’s no-fault laws: • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in the amount of $10,000 • Property Damage Liability coverage in the amount of $10,000
Financial Responsibility Law
In order to comply with the state’s financial responsibility laws, drivers must carry the following coverage: • Bodily injury liability in the amount of $10,000 to cover one person’s medical bills • Bodily injury liability in the amount of $20,000 to cover everyone hurt in the collision • Property damage liability in the amount of $10,000 to repair or replace all property damaged in one collision • Combined single limits in the amount of $30,000
Insurance Fraud in Florida
Insurance fraud is one main reason that auto insurance companies increase everybody’s premiums. Florida is a great example because it has just been found to have the greatest number of auto insurance fraud cases in the country.
According to the Consumer Federation SouthEast more staged accidents resulted in fraudulent claims in Florida than in any other state. A total of 3,006 claims out of all that were filed in this state were found to be fraudulent. Currently, Florida residents pay more for their auto insurance coverage than drivers are paying nationally.
Florida’s Alcohol-Related Accidents
Florida also appears to have a problem with people who choose to sit behind the wheel of their vehicles after having ingested alcohol. According to The Center for Disease Control more than 8,400 people were involved in fatal car accidents caused by a drunk driver between 2003-2012.
Odd Laws in Florida
Although Florida has very serious traffic issues to deal with, the state’s legislature has taken the time to enact laws that are not addressing them. One concerns elephants and parking. It’s not illegal to tie an elephant to a parking meter, and some Florida residents believe that they can leave their elephants at a parking meter and not pay the fee.
However, if they were to do this, they would be breaking one Florida’s laws.
Did You Know…?
Apparently, Florida was behind the times in 1918 when it became the last state in the union to issue a state license plate to those who owned vehicles.