States have the ability to individually set laws and exact punishments regarding liability insurance, fraud, and local statutes regarding matters that are not under Federal jurisdiction. Below is some information regarding insurance fraud statistics, alcohol-related accident statistics, liability insurance information, and some fun facts about the state of Delaware.
Required Insurance information for Delaware
One of the smallest and safest states in the Union, Delaware also has one of the lowest mandatory liability insurance rates in the nation. To meet the state's legal liability requirement, one must purchase a policy that has a minimum of:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability insurance
- $30,000 per accident liability limit
- $10,000 property damage liability insurance
Delaware Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto Insurance Center Methodology
Auto insurance quotes are for a hypothetical driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles for one vehicle. The driver is male, 40 years old, has good credit, a college degree, and is employed with a clean driving record, no lapse in coverage, or claims. The vehicles are driven 16,000 miles per year for commuting and are garaged on premises. The auto quotes include common discounts and are estimates, but not guaranteed.
Auto Insurance Fraud Statistics for Delaware
When it comes to insurance fraud, Delaware ranks a little below the National average number of fraud cases overall. However, due to the ripple effect that criminal fraud has on the economy, the legal system in the state is taking a tougher stance on insurance fraud and the number of cases brought before Delaware's criminal court is on the rise.
Alcohol-related Accident Statistics for Delaware
Alcohol-related accidents are lowering nationwide, but still account for at least one third of all traffic fatalities. According to the latest figures available from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Delaware, with with 38 percent, is slightly higher than than the national average, Delaware has different levels of legal intoxication, dependent on age and type of license. A person is considered legally drunk if they are:
- Over the age of 21, with a blood-alcohol level of .08 percent
- The driver of a commercial vehicle, with a blood-alcohol level of at least .04 percent
- Under the age of 21, with a blood-alcohol level of at least .02 percent
The punishment for a first offense is also dependent on certain factors. An average offender will receive fines of between $250 and $1,500, as well as up to six months in jail, and face a twelve-month license revocation.
They must also complete an alcohol evaluation and take an educational or rehabilitation course. As of 2007, the license revocation was increased to 18 months for a blood-alcohol level of .15 to .19, and two years if the level is .20 or above.
Only in Delaware
There are unusual laws on the books in every state, some left from long-forgotten times and others that are added as unique situations occur. If you happen to be stopping in Rehoboth Beach be aware that under local ordinance 198-14 it is illegal to change your clothes or dress in your car. Violators face a fine if caught.
Did You Know?
Delaware was the last state to stop issuing porcelain license plates; the year was 1942. It is also one of only five states whose capital isn't served by a U.S. Interstate highway.